MEETING MINUTES

THE ASSOCIATED STUDENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO

The Wednesday, November 8, 2017 meeting of the Associated Students Senate was held at 6:00pm in the Price Center East Forum, Speaker Evan Jan presiding and Clerk Ankit Vyas was present.

The roll was called.

The following members were present: Lesly Figueroa, Matthew Arrollado, Refilwe Gqajela, Andrew Thai, Aseel Ali, Itsi Sanchez Rea, Monica Valdez, Sne Lochan, Miguel Tapia, Leony Mijares, Kat Avendano, Raian Kutubi, Janan Alkhaja, Amy Henderson, Anika Balse, Colin Feeney, Nhi Nguyen, Freddy Arriola, Daniel Carnahan, Niall O'Hanlon, Alex Harbert, Roy Velasquez, Tianna De La Paz, Jacqueline Uy, Zahabiya Nuruddin, Zaid Mansuri, Alex Nguyen, Sim Bhatia, Caroline Siegel-Singh.

Public input was given by CALPIRG members.

Vice President External Gqajela reported on behalf of Legislative Committee that the following item was passed: Appointment of Emily Liu as Chief of Staff to the Office of Academic Affairs.

Financial Controller Thai reported on behalf of Finance Committee that the following item was passed: Allocation of \$196 from Student Programming Unallocated to the Virtual Reality Club's Fall 2017 Member Social for a total of \$696.60

Financial Controller Thai reported on behalf of Finance Committee that the following item was passed: Allocation of \$286.74 from Student Programming Unallocated to the Triton Rocket Club's GBM #10 for a total of \$286.74

A Special Presentation regarding Sixth College/ Cesar Chavez College was given by Dr. Olivia Graeve.

A Special Presentation regarding the Board of Regents and University of California Office of the President was given by Vice-President External Gqajela and President Figueroa

Vice President Campus Affairs Arrollado moved to add the following items to New Business:

Appointment of Celia Sanchez-Zelaya as the Chief of Staff to the AVP of Environmental Justice Affairs under the Office of Environmental Justice Affairs effective immediately until appointment of successor.

Appointment of Benicia Chiang as Programming and Events Intern under the Office of Environmental Justice Affairs effective immediately until appointment of successor.

Appointment of Haoyue (Mary) Zhang as Programming and Events Intern under the Office of Environmental Justice Affairs effective immediately until appointment of successor.

Appointment of Khassidy Nguygen as the Outreach Intern under the Office of Environmental Justice Affairs effective immediately until appointment of successor.

Appointment of Tyler Tran as the Social Media and Marketing Intern under the Office of Environmental Justice Affairs effective immediately until appointment of successor.

Senator Feeney moved to approve all items of New Business, which passed by consensus.

The roll was called.

The following members were present: Lesly Figueroa, Matthew Arrollado, Refilwe Gqajela, Aseel Ali, Itsi Sanchez Rea, Monica Valdez, Leony Mijares, Janan Alkhaja, Colin Feeney, Nhi Nguyen, Freddy Arriola, Daniel Carnahan, Niall O'Hanlon, Alex Harbert, Roy Velasquez, Tianna De La Paz, Jacqueline Uy, Zahabiya Nuruddin, Zaid Mansuri, Alex Nguyen, Caroline Siegel-Singh.

Meeting adjourned at 8:17pm.

Ankit Vyas, Clerk Lesly Figueroa, President