MEETING MINUTES

THE ASSOCIATED STUDENTS OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA, SAN DIEGO

The Wednesday, May 31, 2017 meeting of the Associated Students Senate was held at 6:05pm in the Price Center East Forum, Speaker Evan Jan presiding and Clerk Christian Walker was present.

The roll was called.

The following voting members were present: Anika Balse, Colin Feeney, Aseel Ali, Itsi Sanchez Rea, Monica Valdez, Sne Lochan, Miguel Tapia, Kristiana Cuevas, Leony Mijares, Kat Avendano, Amy Henderson, Nhi Nguyen, Freddy Arriola, Tianna De La Paz, Jacqueline Uy, Alex Harbert, Roy Velasquez, Daniel Carnahan, Niall O'Hanlon, Alex Nguyen, Sim Bhatia, Caroline Siegel-Singh, Zahabiya Nuruddin, Sarah Lin, Raian Kutubi, Trent Ollerenshaw, Janan Al-Khaja.

The following non-voting members were present: Lesly Figueroa, Justin Pennish, Matthew Arrollado, Refilwe Gqajela.

Public input was given by former AS Senator Kenny Jones.

Vice President External Gqajela reported on behalf of Legislative Committee that the following item was passed: Memorandum of Understanding between ASUCSD and the Student Sustainability Collective regarding the cost allocation of career employees (see Attachment 1) []

Vice President External Gqajela reported on behalf of Legislative Committee that the following item was tabled 1 week back to committee: Memorandum of Understanding between ASUCSD and Transportation Services regarding the Holiday Airport Shuttles.

Financial Controller Pennish objected and moved to pull from committee, which passed (24 - 0 - 3)

Financial Controller Pennish moved to table the item indefinitely, which passed.

Vice President External Gqajela reported on behalf of Legislative Committee that the following item was passed: Memorandum of Understanding between ASUCSD and KSDT Radio regarding the distribution of reserve funds (see Attachment 2)

Senator Kutubi moved to enter an Executive Session during reports of Legislative Committee.

Financial Controller Pennish objected.

With a vote of 16 - 7 - 4, the motion passed.

President Figueroa moved to exit the Executive Session, which passed.

Speaker Jan reported that the following items were passed during Executive Session: Appointment of Kim Custodio as Associate Vice President of College Affairs effective Friday Week 9 until appointment of successor; Appointment of Kate Pham as Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs effective Friday Week 9 until appointment of successor; Appointment of Kiara Gomez as Associate Vice President of Food & Housing Resources effective Friday Week 9 until appointment of successor; Appointment of Punita Patel as Sr. Associate Vice President of Student Advocacy effective Friday Week 9 until appointment of successor; L9 Appointment of Jessica Tawn as Sr. Associate Vice President of AS Concerts & Events effective Friday Week 9 until appointment of successor; Appointment of Oscar Peter Gomez as Associate Vice President of Health & Wellness effective Friday Week 9 until appointment of successor; Appointment of Meri Yedigaryan as Associate Vice President of Spirit & Athletics effective Friday Week 9 until appointment of successor; Appointment of Abraham Galvan as Associate Vice President of Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion effective Friday Week 9 until appointment of successor; Appointment of Denasia Gaines as Associate Vice President of Local Affairs effective Friday Week 9 until appointment of successor; Appointment of Helen Cao as Sr. Associate Vice President of Student Organizations effective Friday Week 9 until appointment of successor; Appointment of Ryan Moossighi as Associate Vice President of Enterprises & Services effective Friday Week 9 until appointment of successor; Appointment of Andrew Thai as Financial Controller, effective Friday, June 2 at 11:59pm until appointment of successor.

The following items were tabled 1 week back to committee during Executive Session: Appointment of TBD as Associate Vice President of Environmental Justice Affairs effective Friday Week 9 until appointment of successor.

Senator Harbert moved to reorder to Special Presentations, which passed.

A special presentation was given by Ricky Flahive and Wayne Phung titled "Senate Digest: History and Moving Forward".

The roll was called.

The following voting members were present: Anika Balse, Colin Feeney, Aseel Ali, Itsi Sanchez Rea, Monica Valdez, Sne Lochan, Miguel Tapia, Kristiana Cuevas, Leony Mijares, Kat Avendano, Amy Henderson, Nhi Nguyen, Freddy Arriola, Tianna De La Paz, Jacqueline Uy, Alex Harbert, Roy Velasquez, Daniel Carnahan, Niall O'Hanlon, Alex Nguyen, Sim Bhatia, Caroline Siegel-Singh, Zahabiya Nuruddin, Sarah Lin, Raian Kutubi, Trent Ollerenshaw, Janan Al-Khaja.

The following non-voting members were present: Lesly Figueroa, Matthew Arrollado, Refilwe Gqajela, Justin Pennish.

Meeting adjourned at 7:24pm.

Christian Walker, Clerk Lesly Figueroa, President